The batter can switch between pitches.
The pitcher can only switch between
batters.
================
6.06 A batter is out for illegal action when-
(b)He steps from one batter’s box to the other while the pitcher is in position ready to pitch;
Cross References: 6.02(b)
Historical Notes: In 1907, the batter was to be declared out if he stepped from one batter’s box to the other after the pitcher had taken his position. The 1910 rules
further defined the required status of the pitcher when this was to be called. The rule prohibited the batter from changing boxes "...while the pitcher is in position ready to pitch.” This is the same wording as is used today.
The 1933 rule book offered the following explanation:
The batter may change from one box to the other when the pitcher is not in his position, the object of the rule being to prevent the batter from disconcerting the pitcher and perhaps causing him to balk.
Customs and Usage: This is very rarely done in the modem game. With no one on base, an umpire should call “Time” and warn the batter that a second offense will cause him to be called out. With a runner on base, the batter should be called out in strict accordance with the rule.
The spirit and common sense interpretation expressed in 6.02(b) should be noted.
Situations: The right handed pitcher is on the mound in the wind-up position. As he starts his delivery...the right handed batter steps from the right batter’s box to the left batter’s box. The pitch is delivered and the batter swings and misses. Does this pitch count?
RULING: The pitch is irrelevant. The ball is dead and the batter is declared out for this illegal action.
- according to J/R:
[A batter is out when]
(6) he repeatedly changes batter's boxes while the pitcher 6.06b is in-contact with a live ball; a first offense should warrant
time and a warning by the plate umpire.
N.A.P.B.L./PBUC
1.10 BATTER STEPPING OUT OF BATTER'S BOX
Once a batter has taken his position in the batter's box, he shall not be permitted to step out of the batter's box in order to use the resin or the pine tar rag unless there is a delay in the game action or, in the judgment of the umpires, weather conditions warrant an exception. This rule is to be strictly enforced.
If after the pitcher starts his windup or comes to a set position with a runner on, he does not go through with his pitch because the batter has stepped out of the box, it shall not be called a balk. Both the pitcher and batter have violated a rule, and the umpire shall call time and both the bat-ter and pitcher start over from "scratch."
If the pitcher delays once the batter is in his box and the umpire feels that the delay is not justified, he may allow the batter to step out of the box momentarily